Violation of policies and laws described on the first page of this statement by an employee or student is grounds for disciplinary action up to and including termination or expulsion in accordance with applicable University of Florida rules and/or collective bargaining agreements. Such disciplinary actions also may include reprimand or suspension. Student organizations also may be sanctioned for violation of these policies and laws. Such sanctions may range from written reprimand to revocation of recognition as a student organization. Students receiving financial aid may be subject to losing this assistance. Additionally, a violation may be reason for evaluation and treatment of a drug- and/or alcohol-use disorder or referral for prosecution consistent with local, state, and federal criminal law. Disciplinary action against a student or employee by the university does not preclude the possibility of criminal charges against that individual. The filing of criminal charges similarly does not preclude action by the university.
State law prohibits the possession of alcoholic beverages by persons under age 21. Violation of this offense is punishable by a definite term of imprisonment of up to 60 days and/or a $500 fine; a subsequent offense is punishable by a definite term of imprisonment of up to one year and a fine of $1,000. Possession of alcoholic beverages by a person under age of 21 may also result in curtailment of driving privileges. No person may sell, give, serve or permit to be served alcoholic beverages to a person under 21, and it is unlawful for a person under 21 to misrepresent his age in order to obtain alcohol. Violation of either of these offenses is also punishable by a definite term of imprisonment of up to 60 days and a fine of $500. Misrepresentation of age also will lead to the curtailment of driving privileges.
Under state law, it is a crime for any person to possess or distribute controlled substances/drugs as described in Section 893.03, Florida Statutes, except as authorized by law. Punishment for such crimes ranges from first-degree misdemeanors (up to one-year imprisonment and up to a $1,000 fine) to first-degree felonies (up to 30 years imprisonment and up to a $10,000 fine). Specifically, possession of fewer than 20 grams of marijuana is punishable with imprisonment of up to one year and a fine of up to $1,000; possession of more than 20 grams of marijuana is a third-degree felony with imprisonment of up to five years and a fine of up to $5,000. Trafficking (distributing specified large quantities of various controlled substances) is punishable by a term of imprisonment up to life and a fine of $25,000 to $500,000, depending on the particular illicit drug and the quantity involved. Thus, possession of fewer than 28 grams of cocaine is a third-degree felony, while possession of more than 28 grams of cocaine trafficking in cocaine is a first-degree felony, punishable with a fine of up to $250,000 and imprisonment up to life without eligibility for early release. The death penalty may be imposed if a person has brought large quantities of the substances into the state knowing the result would be the death of any person. Individuals who have been convicted of a felony involving the sale of or trafficking in, or conspiracy to sell or traffic in, a controlled substance under certain circumstances may be disqualified from applying for state employment.
Penalties under federal law for drug trafficking generally are greater than penalties under state law. Convictions on drug-related charges also may result in disqualification for federal financial aid. Punishments may include fines of up to eight million dollars ($8,000,000) and life imprisonment. For more information, refer to http://www.higheredcenter.org.